McKendree Spring – Recording No. 9

McKendree Spring reconvened during August of 2010 to create their first studio release since 1976. The result is a collection of 5 songs that are right for the times. Bassist Chris Bishop has rejoined Fran McKendree, Marty Slutsky and Michael Dreyfuss to apply their signature sound to ‘One Word’ from the pen of Tommy Malone of the Subdudes, the timely and beautiful ballad ‘Ellis Island,’ written by Marc Cohn, Keb Mo’s ‘Everything I Need’ and ‘River Song’ by Tom Rush. Michael Dreyfuss’ highly inventive electric viola playing rounds out the collection on the lively original instrumental, ‘The Jig’s Up.’

Recorded over the period of a week in Nashville, with the talented Casey Wood engineering. Alan Stoker [drums] and Paul Hollowell [keys] bring their gifts to the project, with Fred Mollin adding a touch of his synth magic.

Prominence Design - McKendree Spring - Recording No. 9

Click here to learn more about the band and to buy the CD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *